# Update status of read/unread not up-to-date after sync

**URL:** <https://discourse.netnewswire.com/t/update-status-of-read-unread-not-up-to-date-after-sync/250>\
**Category:** Syncing\
**Created:** [May 2, 2026, 4:13pm UTC](https://discourse.netnewswire.com/t/update-status-of-read-unread-not-up-to-date-after-sync/250 "2026-05-02T16:13:21Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 1\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![clausimausi](https://discourse.netnewswire.com/user_avatar/discourse.netnewswire.com/clausimausi/32/81_2.png) [@clausimausi](https://discourse.netnewswire.com/u/clausimausi)\
**Post date:** [May 2, 2026, 4:13pm UTC](https://discourse.netnewswire.com/t/update-status-of-read-unread-not-up-to-date-after-sync/250/1 "2026-05-02T16:13:21Z")

</div>

Hi.

I use NNW on four devices (2x MacOS 26, iPadOS 17, and iOS 26). Normally, on all devices the latest beta versions (via TestFlight) are installed.

Often I read/check all articles in “Unread” until it is empty on one device, mark some with a “Star” for Favorites. I also wait some seconds before quitting NNW, or click on “Update”, hoping the the status of Read articles is saved in the iCloud. Some time later I use NNW on another device, and - sometimes more, sometimes less - articles, which should have been marked as “read”, are again in the “Unread” folder. But also sometimes I see new (previously unread) articles only - which is the behavior I expect in case of using NNW some time later.

“Sync content unread articles” is deactivated on all devices.

Is there a “trick” to be safe for a full sync?
